Accreditation Council

Foundation's organisation chart

The Accreditation Council is the central decision-making body of the Foundation for the Accreditation of Study Programmes in Germany. In particular it accredits and re-accredits the agencies, defines the quality standards for study programmes, internal quality assurance systems of higher education institutions and agencies and monitors the accreditations undertaken by the agencies.


Members of the Accreditation Council are appointed for a period of four years in agreement between the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder and the German Rectors’ Conference.

Members of the Accreditation Council

Chairman: Professor Dr. Reinhold R. Grimm
Vice-chairman: Dr. Jürgen Ude

Higher Education Representatives

Professor Dr. Stefan Bartels, Lübeck University of Applied Sciences

Professor Dr. Holger Burckhart, University of Siegen

Professor Dr. Reinhold R. Grimm, Chairman of the Accreditation Council

Professor Dr. Ute von Lojewski, Münster University of Applied Sciences

Representatives of the Laender

State Secretary Professor Salvatore Barbaro, Ministry of Science, Further Education and Culture of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate

Dr. Susanne Reichrath, Commissioner of the Saarland Minister-President for Universities, Science and Technology

Permanent Secretary Ulrich Steinbach, Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the State of Baden-Württemberg

State Secretary Dr. Juergen Ude, Ministry of Economy, Science and Digitalisation of the State of Saxony-Anhalt 

Professional Practice

Dr. h.c. Josef Beutelmann, Chairman of the Boards of Directors and General-Director of Barmenia-Versicherungen

Petra Gerstenkorn, Member of the ver.di National Executive Board

Thomas Sattelberger, former Board member for Human Resources of the Deutsche Telekom

Dr. Hans-Jürgen Urban, Member of the IG Metall Executive Committee

Jörg Wollny, Ministry of the Interior of the State of Brandenburg


Jan Bormann, TU Kaiserslautern

Franziska Raudonat, TU Kaiserslautern

Foreign Experts

Dr. Sijbolt Noorda, former President of the Association of Universities in the Netherlands (vereniging van universiteiten - VSNU)

Prof. Dr. Martine Rahier, former Rector of the University of Neuchatel

Representative from the agencies (in a consultative capacity)

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Zintl, Otto-Friedrich-University of Bamberg (em.)



To top